Top 5 things that make Italy important to me, top 5 things that make the U.S. Important to me, top 3 things that make me proud to be Italian, and top 3 things that make me proud to be American

5 things that make Italy important to me…

  1. The fact that I have a close relationship with my foreign family.
  2. That it’s partly my country, and I feel a sense of belonging to it.
  3. Because I can speak the Italian language.
  4. The “pure-ness” of Italy. Italy is important to me beacause of their good way of cooking, their pure mountain water (it tastes different than American water), the clean oceans and lakes, the extremely green areas found all over Italy, the beautiful Alps, and so much more. (Not that America doesn’t have some pure-ness either, I just think that Italy is very particular and special about theirs).
  5. The fact that I can be myself in Italy. I can interact with others just as if I were in America. With sincerity and kindness, I don’t have to be nervous around Italians.

 

5 things that make the U.S. important to me…

  1. The kindness of almost everyone there. I feel as if America has some AMAZING costumer service, waiters, police officers, people in general, etc. (Not to say that Italy doesn’t have nice people either).
  2. The fact that jobs are so easy to get there, and that everyone has the possibility to do what they love most, from being a photographer to starting a cooking show.
  3. The fact that moving around, visiting family, our just visiting a famous place is easy and flexible. (In Itlay you have to pay to go on certain roads, in America, it’s all free).
  4. GREAT school environments and, almost always, really safe neighborhoods.
  5. The high popularity of sports, and the importance of playing them in school, or as an extracurricular activity. I love sports, and it makes me kind of sad that Italy doesn’t have the option to do a lot of sports while in school.

 

 3 things that make me proud to be Italian…

  1. Their driving. I LOVE IT when Italians (like my mom) drive. They drive with less caution than any other country, they know how to drive! They know when to speed or when to slow down, when to keep the speed limit carefully, and when or when not to pass other cars. (If you ever get the chance, have an Italian drive in Italy for you. You will NEVER regret the experience)!
  2. The small towns and historical sights. Since so much happened in Italy during the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, and other important time periods, Italy has a lot of ruins and beautiful remains of some amazing pieces of artwork and construction. I feel proud to be part of a country with so much history!
  3. Italy has their own particular culture and way of living. I like how their culture demonstrates that. I also like how most Italians are proud to be Italians.

 

3 things that make me feel proud to be an American…

  1. The architectural design of homes. I like the design of U.S. buildings in general. I love their use of stone, color, and other materials that make U.S. homes beautiful.
  2. I feel proud to be an American because the United States was where the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints was founded and restored. I feel proud to be in a country where that church is widely known.
  3. I feel proud to be an American because it was in the U.S. that some of the major things that are now used throughout the world were invented. I feel proud to live in a country where people have such great minds and are able to create such amazing things.

I love being Italian-American. I love that I can call not one, but two countries “mine”. I give a special thank you out to my mom for teaching me the Italian language at a young age and thank you to both my parents for giving us this experience here in Italy, it is such a blessing. Thank you to my Italian teachers that I had here in fifth grade and to my nonna having the patience with me to help me understand and help me get better in writing and reading in Italian. And a HUGE SHOUT OUT to my awesome brothers and sisters for dutifully striving to learn Italian even if they don’t have a lot of experience with the language.

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Top 5 things that make Italy important to me, top 5 things that make the U.S. Important to me, top 3 things that make me proud to be Italian, and top 3 things that make me proud to be American

  1. Brigit says:

    I can’t wait to visit and see Europe for the first time 🙂 loved your post and all your photos too. I miss you and everyone else so much—I love you!

    Like

  2. Susan Huyck says:

    This is so beautifully written. Though I have only visited Italy once, and I remember being driven by Italians, you make me want to visit again! You are indeed blessed with two beautiful countries to call home, as well as a beautiful, loving family.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mylifeinmomentsblog says:

      Thank you so much for your comment! I do love Italy with all my heart just as I love the US. I’m glad you had a good experience when you went there, and it would be amazing if you could go again, because Italy is truly beatific and special.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Giulia says:

    I have a glimpse of what our relationship will be like as you continue to mature and become the woman you choose to become. There is greatness ahead as you humbly and courageously go through life serving and loving those around you. Both humility and courage along with gratitude and compassion are key to joy and lasting happiness.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Giulia says:

    Wow Hannah!!! I just finally read this post you wrote yesterday. I can’t help but being so impressed by your thoughtfulness in your thinking and writing .
    I love the fact that you feel proud to be both Italian and American. I feel similarly …you are indeed blessed. When I was your age I had never even left my own country, let alone being able to speak another language.
    Sometimes I sit back and observe you not as your mother but as a very blessed woman who gets to be around you and learn from you.
    Keep up with blogging and sharing your mind and heart. I can promise you that as you do so, you will continue to experience much growth within you . Writing helps us have clarity on how we feel and is he best therapy at times…along with many other things like physical activity.

    Love you!!
    Mom

    Liked by 1 person

    • mylifeinmomentsblog says:

      Hi mom!
      Thank you!
      I am very grateful and blessed to have parents that give me this opportunity to experience Italy! Thank you for all you do!
      Ya, I feel similarly. Sometimes I think of you as a really good, reliable friend! Sometimes that’s a lot more fun than thinking of you as my mother, it somehow allows us to talk more and relate to each other more.
      I will definitely keep blogging. I love blogging and I am glad I have the opportunity to do so!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

