The Joy of the Family

Now, this post has a serious title, but it’s going to be a lot funnier than my previous, recent posts. (Besides the one about Italy and the US. That was pretty funny ๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜‚). Today my post is going to be a blend of family time, some beach stuff, and Italian card games. Wierd mix, yet awesome story…let’s begin!

 

So, in these past days, waves have begun to arrive to shore. The only problem with this is that they are very big, and our shore is quite rocky, which makes it dangerous to be in the water with those waves. So, since we are in Puglia to go to the beach, these waves just eliminated our beach time. So what are we left with? A: Cards and board games.

I have never really played an American card game. My whole life I have been playing games like Scopa, Briscola, Tre Sette, Burraco, Pinnacolo, and UNO. (Sorry for the disgrace my fellow Americans)! Well, anyway, the reason why I play so many Italian card games is, one, I really like playing games that my mom is good at and likes, and two, these games are really competitive and it takes some strategy to play them, and I like both strategy and competition (especially with my parents). Yesterday, mom taught us (me, my brother, my dad, and my sister) how to play Briscola in five (Briscola in cinque). After a few rounds, the newly taught players were very eager to play a lot more than a few rounds, these we went to bet in the morning instead of at night! But we all loved the game, and that was what counted! (Even if some of us were dead tired when we woke up).ย But for us kids, a good round is not enough, soย guess what we did today? We played Briscola in 5 for over an hour, and man it was fun! I love how anywhere we go, our family can be together. I also love the fact that our family has time for one another, that we are almost always capable of spending time in one another’s presence. And that leads me to my next thought…

I was reflecting on the topic “the family” today. I was thinking about it because my mom had just happened to start talking about how she was so happy that our family could have time together almost whenever we wanted. So, as I normally do, I went to search some quotes about families, and here are some quotes that I found…

“Family is like music, some high notes, some low notes, but always a beautiful song.” – Author Unknown

“Family: They drive you crazy. They drive you nuts. They drive you loony. But…they drive you.” – GatheredAgain.com

I love these quotes because they perfectly describe our family: happy, sad, angry, joyful, etc. I also love these quotes because they tell us that families are not perfect. They don’t always make perfect desicions or don’t always have the best of days, but they are still a family, and I love that teaching. Sometimes, I think, that we expect our family members to be perfect human beings and never to make mistakes. I think sometimes we need that reminder. I hope that we all can remember to love our family members and remember that they are not perfect, and we can’t make them that way. All we can do is love them and show them that we care. Yes, sometimes we get angry and upset, but we can always ask forgiveness for our wrongs. I am not perfect, but writing about this is helping me overcome my blocks and unkindness towards my family. I hope that we can all do the same.

Just a side note, in the comments below, I would really appreciate it if you would tell me if you like it when I post these kind of things like topics about hope, family, and vulnerability. I am asking this from you guys because I am still kind of am figuring out what I mainly want to wright about in this blog. Your help would be extremely appreciated! ๐Ÿ˜€

4 thoughts on “The Joy of the Family

  1. Giulia says:

    I loved this post, Hannah.
    Thank you for sharing your feelings and thoughts about family.
    It is tricky to spend all this time together….it is wonderful but also challenging at times. That’s life.
    A dearest friend of mine once told me that my blessings was my curse…she was so right. What we love the most can be the most challenging thing to deal with.
    You gotta love the “opposition in all things” concept we are all so well familiar with.
    Anyway, I enjoy reading everything you share! Keep it up, dear!

    Mom

    Liked by 1 person

    • mylifeinmomentsblog says:

      Hi mom! Everything you said is true. We have to be ready for opposition in family relationships, friendships and so much more. And yes, sometimes it can be really challenging to deal with! Thank you for your comment and I will definitely keep the posting up to date!

      Like

Leave a Reply

